The Royal Palace

Palazzo Reale di Napoli

The Royal Palace of Naples was one of four residences enjoyed by the House of Bourdon during the period of the Kingdom of Two Sicilies, the other three being the Reggia di Capodimonte, the Reggia di Caserta and the Reggia di Portici. The Royal Palace majestically faces the Piazza del Plebiscito and is surrounded by other important buildings like the Palazzo Salerno, the Church of San Francesco di Paola and the Prefettura Palace.

It has also been the residence of many kingdoms over the years, from the Spanish, to the Austrian Viceroys and finally, the House of Bourbon. After the Italian Unification, it became the neapolitan residence of the House of Savoy.